ANDERSON MADISON COUNTY VISITORS COMMISSION

THURSDAY, JANUARY 11, 2024

VISITORS BUREAU MEETING ROOM 10:00 A.M.

MINUTES

Attending: Marj Shell, Rick Fulaytar, Jan Davis, Abby Shores & Janet Stover

Ex-officio: Mark Thacker, Executive Director

Absent: Kelley Morgan and Darla Sallee

I. The meeting was called to order by President Marj Shell at 10:09 a.m.

- II. The Commission was called on to approve or amend the agenda.
 Motion to approve was made by Jan Davis. Seconded by Rick Fulaytar.
 Motion Passed.
- III. The Secretary's report was reviewed from the October 12, 2023 meeting. Motion to approved was made by Rick Fulaytar. Seconded by Janet Stover. Motion Passed.
- IV. The Treasurer's report gave the Commission's financial status noting that through December 31, 2023 the balance in the innkeepers tax collected revenue is \$783,405.64. Motion to approve was made by Jan Davis. Seconded by Abby Shores. Motion Passed.

V. Old Business:

- A. **Hotel Updates** Mark Thacker shared that the Hampton Inn is projected to reopen Q3 of 2024. Tru Hotel is projected to grand open Q1 of 2024. Avid and Townplace Suites are projected to break ground Q1 of 2024. Elwood still has plans for at least one hotel but is working out details regarding their fieldhouse project.
- B. Innkeepers Tax Mark Thacker shared efforts being applied toward recovery of non remittance 2023 innkeepers tax. Updates will be provided during the next Commission meeting.

VI. New Business:

- A. **2023** Mark Thacker shared that we finished slightly above the 2023 innkeepers revenue projection. We experienced another strong fiscal year, and the future is bright.
- **B.** Membership As Marj Shell and Rick Fulaytar are retiring from the Commission at the conclusion of January 2024, there are Commission openings that represent the City and County. Norman Rayford was suggested to represent the City. Amy Turner was suggested to represent the County. A motion was made by Rick Fulaytar to accept both candidates as Commission members pending any appointments from the City and/or County. Seconded by Jan Davis. Motion Passed.
 - Not having any appointments by February 1, 2024, those candidates will become Commission members. All Commission members will get sworn in early February 2024.
- **C. Slate of Officers** With Marj Shell retiring as Commission President and Rick Fulaytar retiring as Commission Treasurer, new Commission Officers need decided. It was proposed that Jan

Davis transition from Vice President to President, Kelley Morgan transition from Secretary to Vice Chair, Abby Shores transition from member to Treasurer, and Secretary to decided between Janet Stover, Darla Sallee, Norman Rayford and Amy Turner. Janet Stover made the motion to follow that proposal. Abby Shores seconded. Motion Passed.

- D. Commission Bank Account Authorization With the change of Commission officers, updates to the bank signature cards need completed. All previous names will be removed, and these individuals will be added: Jan Davis President, Kelley Morgan Vice Chair, and Abby Shores Treasurer. Abby Shores will manage that process.
- VII. **President's Remarks -** Marj Shell shared her appreciation for serving on the Commission for many years as well as the progress that she has experienced during her tenure.

Mark Thacker presented glass plaques from Carol's Legacy to both Marj Shell and Rick Fulaytar to commemorate their service over the past twenty plus years.

VIII. The meeting was adjourned at 10:58 a.m.

Respectfully Submitted by: Marj Shell, Commission President

2024 Commission Meetings at 10:00 a.m. at the Anderson Madison County Visitors Bureau

April 11 July 11 October 10